Metal Lyrica - The Largest Metal Lyrics Archive
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
Advanced Search 


The Olden Domain

Album: ''The Olden Domain'' (1997)
1. The Eye of Oden
2. The Winterway
3. Om hundrede aar er alting glemt
4. A Tale of Pagan Tongue
5. To Mount and Rove
6. Grimland Domain
7. Ascension of Our Fathers
8. The Dawn of the End

The Archaic Course

Album: ''The Archaic Course'' (1998)
1. Oceans Rise
2. Universal
3. The Witching Hour
4. The Black Token
5. Nocturnal Vision
6. Ad Noctum
7. Winter Millenium
8. Fields of Long Gone Presence / Outro


Album: ''Quintessence'' (2000)
1. Rivalry of Phantoms
2. The Presence Is Ominous
3. Ruins of the Future
4. Colossus
5. Inner Landscape
6. Invincible
7. Icon Dreams
8. Genesis Torn
9. Embers
10. Revolt


Album: ''Empiricism'' (2001)
1. The Genuine Pulse
2. Gods of My World
3. The Black Canvas
4. Matter & Motion
5. Soul Sphere
6. Inherit the Earth
7. The Stellar Dome
8. Four Element Synchronicity
9. Liberated
10. The View of Everlast


Album: ''Epic'' (2004)
1. Future Reminiscence
2. Traveller
3. Origin
4. Sealed Chambers of Electricity
5. The Weight of Wind
6. Resonance
7. Relate
8. Cyclus
9. Circled
10. Inner Ocean Hypothesis
11. Quintessence
12. The Wonder


Album: ''Origin'' (2006)
1. Earth Imagery
2. Grains
3. Oceans Rise
4. Signs
5. White
6. Cynosure
7. The Human Nature
8. Acclimation
9. The Spirit of Nature



Borknagar is a band from Bergen, Norway founded in 1995 by Øystein Garnes Brun. The band began as a black/viking metal band and quickly adopted a more progressive metal style after their first album.

As such, the band's most know style would be that of progressive viking, with most of their albums taking from this style. Borknagar's lyrics often deal with philosophy, paganism, nature, and the cosmos. The name Borknagar may have come from an anagram of "Ragnarok", with a B thrown in to make it pronounceable. (however, Øystein Brun stated once that the name was inspired by a Scottish legend about a man who climbed Lochnagar, a mountain in Scotland).

Borknagar rose out of the ashes of the Norwegian death metal band Molested when then-member Øystein G. Brun became tired of the brutal aspects of the band's music. Øystein formed Borknagar to explore a more melodic outlet of expression; he wrote all of the music and lyrics and gathered together an all-star group of black metal musicians to play in his band. Well-known musicians of the black metal scene (such as Infernus of Gorgoroth, Grim of Immortal and Gorgoroth, Garm of Ulver, Head Control System, and ex-Arcturus) joined the project, bringing immediate attention to Borknagar. The band never even recorded a demo – they simply asked for a record contract on Malicious Records and were granted their request. Borknagar's majestic, melodic sound was instantly liked by many and received positive press attention.

Borknagar has released seven albums to date. Their self-titled debut album features lyrics in Norwegian; all subsequent albums have featured lyrics written in English by both ICS Vortex from Arcturus and Dimmu Borgir and later by current singer, Vintersorg from Otyg and his eponymous band (Vintersorg). All of the band's records (excluding the original pressing of the debut album) have been released by the Century Media label. Borknagar has toured with various bands, including the well-known cradle of filth.


1996 - Borknagar
1997 - The Olden Domain
1998 - The Archaic Course
2000 - Quintessence
2001 - Empiricism
2004 - Epic
2006 - Origin


Current Members

* Vintersorg (Andreas Hedlund) - Vocals - (2000-)
* Øystein G. Brun - Guitar - (1995-)
* Lazare (Lars Nedland) - Keyboard - (1999-)
* Asgeir Mickelson - Drums - (1999-)

Former Members
* Garm (Kristoffer Rygg) - Vocals - (1995-1997)
* ICS Vortex (Simen Hestnæs) - Vocals, Bass - (1997-2000)

* Jens Ryland - Guitar - (1997-2003)

* Tyr (Jan Erik Tiwaz) - Bass - (2000-2003) - Session Member for Origin
* Kai Lie - Bass - (1996-1998)
* Infernus - Bass - (1995-1996)

* Ivar Bjørnson - Keyboard - (1995-1998)

* Grim (Erik Brødreskift) (R. I. P. 1969 - 1999.10.04, suicide) - (1995-1998)

Black Metal / Progressive Viking / Folk Metal

Nature, Science, Cosmos, Mythology

Norway (Bergen), formed in 1995

Century Media


Øystein G. Brun : Guitars (ex-Molested, Cronian)
Vintersorg (Andreas Hedlund) : Vocals, guitars, keyboards (ex-Havayoth, Fission, ex-Cosmic Death, Waterclime, Cronian, Otyg)
Lars A. Nedland : Keyboards (Solefald, ex-Carpathian Forest, Age of Silence, ex-Ásmegin)
Asgeir Mickelson : Drums, bass (on Epic) (Code (session), Enslavement of Beauty (session), ex-Highland Glory (live session), Ihsahn, ex-Lunaris, Scariot, Spiral Architect, Thornbound, ex-Vintersorg (session))

Session members:
Jens F. Ryland - Guitars
Erik Tiwaz - Bass

Garm (Kristoffer Rygg) : Vocals (Ulver, ex - Arcturus (Nor), Head Control System)
ICS Vortex (Simen Hestnæs) : Vocals, bass (Arcturus (Nor), Dimmu Borgir, Lamented Souls, Code)
Grim (Erik Brødreskift) : Drums (ex-Immortal (Nor), ex-Gorgoroth) (R.I.P. 1969 - 04.10.1999, suicide)
Jens F. Ryland : Guitars
Ivar Bjørnson : Keyboards, synths (Enslaved (Nor), Phobia (Nor), Desekrator, ex-Gorgoroth, ex-Taake (session), Inoculate Injure)

Kai K. Lie (St. Satan)
Infernus (Roger Tiegs) (Gorgoroth, Orcustus, Desekrator, Norwegian Evil)
Tyr (Jan Erik Tiwaz) (ex-Emperor (Live), ex-Vintersorg, Thornbound, ex-Koldbrann (guest))


Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 

Contact e-mail:
Copyright (c) 2007 - - All lyrics are the property and copyright of their respective owners.
All lyrics provided for educational purposes and personal use only. Please read the disclaimer.

About Us - Submit Lyrics - Privacy Policy - Disclaimer - Links