Metal Lyrica - The Largest Metal Lyrics Archive
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
Advanced Search 



Album: ''Lucifer's Friend'' (1970)
1. Ride in the Sky
2. Everybody's Clown
3. Keep Goin'
4. Toxic Shadows
5. Free Baby
6. Baby You're a Liar
7. In the Time of a Job When Mammon was a Yippie
8. Lucifer's Friend

In the Name of Job when Mammon was a Yippie

Album: ''In the Name of Job when Mammon was a Yippie'' (1971 Single)
1. In the Name of Job when Mammon was a Yippie
2. Lucifer's Friend

Where Groupies Killed the Blues

Album: ''Where Groupies Killed the Blues'' (1972)
1. Hobo
2. Rose in the Vine
3. Mother
4. Where Groupies Killed the Blues
5. Prince of Darkness
6. Summerdream
7. Burning Ships


Album: ''Hobo'' (1972 Single)
1. Hobo
2. Prince of Darkness

I�m Just A Rock�n�Roll Singer

Album: ''I�m Just A Rock�n�Roll Singer'' (1973)
1. Groovin� Stone
2. Closed Curtains
3. Born On The Run
4. Blind Freedom
5. Rock�n�Roll Singer
6. Lonely City Days
7. Mary�s Breakdown
8. Song For Louie


Album: ''Rock 'N' Roll Singer'' (1973 Single)
1. Rock 'N' Roll Singer
2. Satyr's Dance


Album: ''Devil's Touch'' (1976 Best of/Compilation)
1. Ride The Sky
2. In The Time of Job When Mammmon Was A Yippie
3. Free Hooker
4. Fugitive
5. Moonshine Rider
6. Natural Born Mover
7. Lucifer's Friend
8. Born On the Run



Lucifer's Friend was a 1970s German hard rock and progressive rock band who often incorporated elements of jazz and pop music.

Despite the band's German origin and progressive rock stylings, they are not usually classified as krautrock, which had a more electronically oriented sound.

The British-born John Lawton was vocalist for a group called Stonewall. Peter Hecht, Dieter Horns, Peter Hesslein, and Joachim Reitenbach were members of a band called The German Bonds. The five joined together to record an album under the band name of Asterix in 1970, then changed their name to Lucifer's Friend and continued under that name. Another group called The Pink Mice was a side project by some of the members in 1971 minus Lawton.

The early albums were released on the Vertigo Records label in Europe, but in the United States those albums were released on a series of small independent record labels (Billingsgate, Janus, Passport), often a year or more after their release in Europe. Thus, despite airplay in some markets and a cult following, the band's albums were hard to find and commercial success eluded them. The band was finally signed to Elektra Records in the late 1970s who released three albums with a more commercial pop oriented sound, but by then interest in the band had waned; those albums were even less successful than the earlier ones.

b]ucifer's Friend was known for changing musical styles and influences on each album. The self-titled 1970 debut had dark lyrics and a stripped-down guitar and organ style heavily influenced by Led Zeppelin and Black Sabbath. That album is still sought after by fans of early heavy metal music. The second album, Where the Groupies Killed the Blues, took an entirely different direction; it was a very experimental album of progressive and psychedelic rock, mostly composed by john o'brien docker. On the third album, I'm Just a Rock & Roll Singer, they changed direction again, this time in the straightforward rock style popularized by such groups as Grand Funk Railroad, and gritty "life on the road" themes in the lyrics. Banquet featured extended, multi-layered jazz fusion compositions and a 30-piece backup band, alternating with some shorter tracks reminiscent of Chicago and Traffic. Those first four albums are all concept albums of a sort and along with the self-titled Asterix album are the most sought after today.

Mind Exploding established a holding pattern and tried to combine the jazz of Banquet with the garage-rock of Rock & Roll Singer, but was not as well received as the earlier albums. Vocalist John Lawton left in 1976 to join Uriah Heep, but returned for the 1981 album Mean Machine. On the two albums without Lawton they moved to a more commercial sound, on 1978's Good Time Warrior and 1980's Sneak Me In.

John Lawton's 1980 solo album on RCA, Heartbeat, was a Lucifer's Friend album in everything but name, with the lineup from Sneak Me In performing as backup musicians on that project. Lawton's official return, Mean Machine, found the band returning to heavy metal, this time in the vein of Foreigner and Bad Company. The band officially broke up in 1982 but briefly reformed in the early 1990s to release a new CD, Sumo Grip.

70's prog-tinged heavy metal/hard rock

Germany (Hamburg), formed in 1970

Elektra Records


John Lawton - vocals (Rebel, Zar, Uriah Heep, Stonewall, Solo)
Peter Hesslein - guitars
Dieter Horns - bass
Herbert Bornholdt - drums

Joachim Reitenbach - drums (1970-1973)
Peter Hecht - keyboards
Andrew Askew - keyboards
Mike Starrs - vocals


Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 

Contact e-mail:
Copyright (c) 2007 - - All lyrics are the property and copyright of their respective owners.
All lyrics provided for educational purposes and personal use only. Please read the disclaimer.

About Us - Submit Lyrics - Privacy Policy - Disclaimer - Links