Metal Lyrica - The Largest Metal Lyrics Archive
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
Advanced Search 


Bury Forever The Garden Of Lie

Album: ''Bury Forever The Garden Of Lie'' (1995 Demo)
1. River
2. Infectious Souls of Mine
3. Lashes Upon His Face / Livid
4. In My Eyes

The Infernal Depths Of Hatred

Album: ''The Infernal Depths Of Hatred'' (1998)
1. Released When You Are Dead
2. Let the Heavens Hate
3. Under Azure Skies
4. Vast Lands / Infernal Gates
5. Slain Upon His Altar
6. Those Who Lick the Wounds of Christ
7. Dethrone the Hypocrites
8. Aim Not at the Kingdom High

WAR Vol. II - Anata vs. Bethzaida

Album: ''WAR Vol. II - Anata vs. Bethzaida'' (1999 Split)
1. Last Day of Sodom
2. Expulsion
3. Fredmans epistel nr. 30: Drick ur ditt glas (Bellman cover)
4. Under Azure Skies (Anata cover)
5. Let Me Become Your Fallen Messiah
6. With Me You Shall Fall
7. Day of Suffering (Morbid Angel cover)
8. The Tranquillity of My Last Breath (Bethzaida cover)

Dreams Of Death And Dismay

Album: ''Dreams Of Death And Dismay'' (2001)
1. Die Laughing
2. Faith, Hope, Self-Deception
3. God of Death
4. Metamorphosis by the Well of Truth
5. Dreamon
6. Can't Kill What's Already Dead
7. Insurrection
8. The Enigma of Number Three
9. Drain of Blood
10. The Temple / Erratic

Under A Stone With No Inscription

Album: ''Under A Stone With No Inscription'' (2004)
1. Shackled to Guilt
2. A Problem Yet to Be Solved
3. Entropy Within
4. Dance to the Song of Apathy
5. Sewerages of the Mind
6. Built on Sand
7. Under the Debris
8. The Drowning
9. Leaving the Spirit Behind
10. Any Kind of Magic or Miracle

The Conductor

Album: ''The Conductor's Departure'' (2006)
1. Downward Spiral Into Madness
2. Complete Demise
3. Better Grieved Than Fooled
4. The Great Juggler
5. Cold Heart Forged in Hell
6. I Would Dream of Blood
7. Disobedience Pays
8. Children's Laughter
9. Renunciation
10. The Conductor's Departure



Formed in Varberg, Sweden in 1993 by Robert Petersson (drums), Fredrik Schälin (lead guitar, vocals), Mattias Svensson (guitar) and Martin Sjöstrand (bass), Anata's penchant for penning unrelenting death metal with a razor-sharp sense of melody has always been an inherent trait in their songwriting. As the band grew as musicians and songwriters, the music shifted into a darker, more death metal direction. Performing live with Dissection, Lake Of Tears and Beseech, Anata also proved to be an intense live outfit. It was in this arena that the band honed their skills equivalent to that of their more experienced countrymen.

Anata's first demo, "Bury Forever the Garden of Lie", was recorded in June 1995. The recording was met with overwhelming success from the European press, and furthered the band’s visibility in the worldwide market. Yet, even with an acclaimed demo behind them and increasing interest from press and labels, guitarist Mattias Svensson and bassist Martin Sjöstrand left the band in 1996. In the same year, Anata found a new bassist in Henrik Drake. Ready for battle once again, Anata recorded their second demo, "Vast Lands of My Infernal Dominion" in 1997. The demo signaled a continued drive to venture faster into the depths of death metal, using the blueprint drawn and re-drawn by their American counterparts as a guide. By year’s end, the band found Andreas Allenmark to fill in as second guitarist.

The quality of "Vast Lands of My Infernal Dominion" landed in the hands of French label Season Of Mist, and only a year later Anata was in the studio recording their debut album. Titled "The Infernal Depths of Hatred", the album featured four songs from their second demo as well as four new tracks. Tracks like "Released When You’re Dead" and "Aim Not at the Kingdom High" ushered a move into thicker, bottom-heavy death metal while "Slain Upon His Altar" and "Dethrone the Hypocrites" maintained the band’s yearning for harmonic structure. As evidence of the album’s greatness, French magazine, Metallian, voted "Infernal Depths of Hatred", "Album Of The Month".

The mounting praise from fans and critics alike didn’t stop Anata. Never one to rest on their laurels, Anata started writing for a second full-length. "Dreams of Death and Dismay" harnesses Anata's punishing songwriting abilities into 10 explosive songs of uncompromising, punch-you-in-the-throat aggressive death metal. Anata's fierce, all-over-the-fretboard riffing, however, never compromised the band's superb melodic sense. The seamless combination of musical elements and culmination of many years of experience shows that Dreams of Death and Dismay isn’t merely a death metal album with fantastic melodic purport, it’s an album that shows where the genre has been and where it’s headed. Anata is the future of intense, intricate metal.

In April 2001 drummer Robert Petersson left Anata and was replaced by Conny Pettersson, and the new line up signed to Wicked World in August 2002. Taking the best part of 2003 to record their latest album, the band eventually emerged from Studio Mega with the phenomenal 'Under A Stone With No Inscription', released in January 2004. Having developed their sound into something genuinely unique, the band suddenly found themselves bracketed with the likes of Cryptopsy, Dillinger Escape Plan and Meshuggah, so erratic and formula-free was the material on offer. Attracting praise from all quarters, the band set about embarking on their first UK tour with Decapitated, in March 2004, ending with a sold out show at London's Camden Underworld.

The new album 'The Conductor's Departure' was released late June 2006

Anata means "You" in Japanese

Technical Death Metal

Mostly Anti-Christian

Sweden (Varberg), formed in 1993



Fredrik Schälin - Vocals, Guitar (Immemoreal, RotInjected)
Andreas Allenmark - Guitar, Backing Vocals (RotInjected)
Henrik Drake - Bass (RotInjected)
Conny Pettersson - Drums (ex-Beseech, ex-Eternal Lies, Trendkill (Swe), RotInjected, Justified)

Robert Petersson (1993-2001) - Drums
Martin Sjöstrand (1993-1996) - Bass
Mattias Svensson (1993-1996) - Guitar


Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 

Contact e-mail:
Copyright (c) 2007 - - All lyrics are the property and copyright of their respective owners.
All lyrics provided for educational purposes and personal use only. Please read the disclaimer.

About Us - Submit Lyrics - Privacy Policy - Disclaimer - Links