Metal Lyrica - The Largest Metal Lyrics Archive
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
Advanced Search 


The Morning Never Came

Album: ''The Morning Never Came'' (2003)
1. Through Her Silvery Body
2. Deadly Nightshade
3. Out of This Gloomy Light
4. Swallow (Horror Pt.1)
5. Silence of the Womb
6. Hold This Woe
7. Under the Waves
8. The Morning Never Came

Out Of This Gloomy Light

Album: ''Out Of This Gloomy Light'' (2003 Demo)
1. Through Her Silvery Body
2. Out Of This Gloomy Light
3. Swallow
4. Under The Waves

Ghosts of Loss

Album: ''Ghosts of Loss'' (2005)
1. The Giant
2. Descending Winters
3. Psychopath's Lair
4. Forgive Her
5. Fragile
6. Ghost of Laura Palmer
7. Gloom, Beauty, and Despair
8. The Ship

Forgive Her...

Album: ''Forgive Her...'' (2005 Single)
1. Forgive Her...
2. Solitude (Candlemass cover)


Album: ''Hope'' (2007)
1. Hope
2. These Hours of Despair
3. The Justice of Suffering
4. Don't Fall Asleep (Horror Pt. 2)
5. Too Cold For Tears
6. The Empty Skies
7. No Light, No Hope
8. Doomed to Walk the Earth
9. These Low Lands* (Timo Rautiainen & Trio Niskalaukaus Cover)


Album: ''Don't Fall Asleep (Horror Pt. 2)'' (2007 Single)
1. Don't Fall Asleep (Horror Pt. 2) (edit)
2. These Low Lands
3. Don't Fall Asleep (Horror Pt. 2)

swallow the sun


The idea of Swallow the Sun was formed in spring 2000 by Juha Raivio. He had few songs that didn't fit the style of his band at the time, Plutonium Orange. Pasi Pasanen was playing drums in Plutonium Orange at the time, so Juha started rehearsing the songs with him. In 2001 they started to look for people to play with - the first one to join the line-up was Markus Jämsen, whom Pasanen and Raivio already knew from their earlier projects. After Jämsen, along came Mikko Kotamäki from Funeris Nocturnum as the bassist/vocalist. Later on they decided that the band needed keyboards and a dedicated bassist, so they turned to Funeris Nocturnum, from where they got Aleksi Munter on keyboards and Matti Honkonen on bass, and the line-up was complete.

The recordings of the 4-song demo 'Out of This Gloomy Light' took place in January 2003 at Sam's Workshop, and resulted soon in a record deal with Firebox Records. The recordings of their first full-length album started in late July 2003 at the same studio the demo was recorded, and it was released in November. It immediately got huge press in Finland and loads of appraising reviews. Swallow the Sun was selected as the Newcomer of the Year 2003 in Inferno-magazine's (the 2nd biggest music magazine in Finland) poll, and was third in the same series in Finnish Metal Awards 2003. Kerrang! called Swallow the Sun "One of doom metals finest moments to date" and gave the album 5/5 K's.

After the release of the album Swallow the Sun got a deal with Welldone, the Finnish representative of Clear Channel Entertainment Company, and started a year of intensive gigging. They played in lots of festivals in Finland, including Tuska Open Air Metal Fest and Provinssirock. In the end of the year Century Media/Olympic Records released 'The Morning Never Came' in USA, and it has got rave reviews in all the major metal magazines.

In February 2005 Swallow the Sun entered Sam's Workshop again to record their 2nd album 'Ghosts of Loss'. A single 'Forgive Her...' was released in April 2005, and it hit the official Finnish Top 20 Singles chart at position 4 on it's first week. It stayed on the charts for 6 weeks and was the first Finnish doom metal release ever to enter the charts in Finland.

Melodic Doom/Death Metal

Death, Grief, Loss, Horror

Finland (Jyväskylä), formed in 2000

Spinefarm Records


Mikko Kotamäki - Vocals (Alghazanth, Empyrean Bane, ex-Enter My Silence, ex-Funeris Nocturnum, Verivala)
Juha Raivio - Guitars (ex-Clayforge, Plutonium Orange)
Markus Jämsen - Guitars (ex-Clayforge, ex-Murder in Art, Rautakello)
Matti Honkonen - Bass (Atakhama, ex-Funeris Nocturnum, ex-Obscurant, Gold Dust)
Pasi Pasanen - Drums (ex-Clayforge, ex-Morningstar (Fin), ex-Murder in Art, Plutonium Orange)
Aleksi Munter - Keyboard (Empyrean Bane, ex-Funeris Nocturnum, Trollheim's Grott, Random)


Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 

Contact e-mail:
Copyright (c) 2007 - - All lyrics are the property and copyright of their respective owners.
All lyrics provided for educational purposes and personal use only. Please read the disclaimer.

About Us - Submit Lyrics - Privacy Policy - Disclaimer - Links