Metal Lyrica - The Largest Metal Lyrics Archive
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
Advanced Search 


Heavy As A Really Heavy Thing

Album: ''Heavy As A Really Heavy Thing'' (1995)
1. S.Y.L.
2. In the Rainy Season
3. Goat
4. Cod Metal King
5. Happy Camper (Carpe B.U.M.)
6. Critic
7. The Filler - Sweet City Jesus
8. Skin Me
9. Drizzlehell
10. Exciter (Judas Priest cover)


Album: ''City'' (1997)
1. Velvet Kevorkian
2. All Hail the New Flesh
3. Oh My Fucking God
4. Detox
5. Home Nucleonics
6. AAA
7. Underneath the Waves
8. Room 429 (Cop Shoot Cop cover)
9. Spirituality

No Sleep Till Bedtime

Album: ''No Sleep Till Bedtime'' (1998 Live album)
1. Velvet Kevorkian
2. All Hail the New Flesh
3. Home Nucleonics
4. Oh My Fucking God
5. S.Y.L.
6. In the Rainy Season
7. Far Beyond Metal
8. Japan
9. Centipede


Album: ''SYL'' (2003)
1. Dire
2. Consequence
3. Relentless
4. Rape Song
5. Aftermath
6. Devour
7. Last Minute
8. Force Fed
9. Dirt Pride
10. Bring on the Young

Tour EP

Album: ''Tour EP'' (2003 EP)
1. Devour
2. Aftermath
3. Oh My Fucking God (From "City")
4. In The Rainy Season (From "No Sleep 'Till Bedtime")
5. Detox (Live previously unreleased)

For Those Aboot To Rock (Live At The Commodore)

Album: ''For Those Aboot To Rock (Live At The Commodore)'' (2004 DVD)
1. Dire [Intro]
2. Consequence
3. Relentless
4. Rape Song
5. Home Nucleonics
6. S.Y.L.
7. In The Rainy Season
8. Devour
9. Aftermath
10. Oh My Fucking God
11. Force Fed
12. Detox
13. All Hail The New Flesh
14. Far Beyond Metal


Album: ''Alien'' (2005)
1. Imperial
2. Skeksis
3. Shitstorm
4. Love?
5. Shine
6. We Ride
7. Possessions
8. Two Weeks
9. Thalamus
10. Zen
11. Info Dump

The New Black

Album: ''The New Black'' (2006)
1. Decimator
2. You Suck
3. The Antiproduct
4. Monument
5. Wrong Side
6. Hope
7. Far Beyond Metal
8. Fucker
9. Almost Again
10. Polyphony
11. The New Black
12. The Long Pig*
13. Zodiac (Melvins Cover)*

strapping young lad


Strapping Young Lad is an influential Canadian industrial death/thrash metal band, started by Devin Townsend in 1994, which is currently on hiatus. Strapping Young Lad is the angrier, more aggressive side of Devin Townsend, The Devin Townsend Band is popularly known as the happier side. Their sound is generally described as progressive death metal/industrial metal, which incorporates symphonic synth-melodies and a wall of sound production technique, although this differs from album to album.

Strapping Young Lad began as a solo project by Canadian musician Devin Townsend. Once he had completed his work as vocalist on Steve Vai's Sex and Religion and that album's subsequent tour, he recorded the majority of the instruments on the debut album, Heavy as a Really Heavy Thing.

Rather than remain a solo project, additional members and the release of the album City, saw SYL secure their line-up permanently. City was released to a huge response, prompting Kerrang! magazine to call it one of the heaviest albums ever.

SYL's third album, the self titled Strapping Young Lad, marked SYL's first release on Devin's own label, Hevy Devy Records, which was founded just after the release of City and is managed by Devin and his wife Tracy.

In early 2004, Devin advertised on the band's official forum for fans to join SYL for a free show at the Commodore in Vancouver. This show was filmed and released as the first DVD from SYL: For Those Aboot to Rock: Live at the Commodore.

Strapping Young Lad's fourth album, Alien was released March 22, 2005, to a mixture of reviews, mostly favouring the progressive element Devin Townsend continues to bring to extreme metal.

They entered the studio in March 2006 to record their follow-up, titled The New Black - which was released in July 2006. In addition, Strapping Young Lad embarked on a short festival tour of Europe in June (including the reputable Download Festival at Castle Donington, England), and were added to the bill of the prestigious Ozzfest, where they played to some of their largest audiences this far, in July and August 2006.

Death/Thrash with industrial overtones

Anger, Violence, Being Generally Pissed Off, Humor

Canada (Vancouver, BC), formed in 1994

Century Media


Devin Townsend - Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards (ex-IR8, ex-Ocean Machine, ex-Steve Vai, Punky Brüster)
Jed Simon - Guitars (Zimmer's Hole, Tenet, Armoros, ex-Devin Townsend, ex-Front Line Assembly)
Byron Stroud - Bass (Zimmer's Hole, Fear Factory, ex-Devin Townsend, ex-Caustic Thought, ex-Unit: 187, ex-Physicist)
Gene Hoglan - Drums (Dark Angel (US), Tenet, The Almighty Punchdrunk, Death, Testament, Devin Townsend, Old Man's Child, Phantasm, Wargod, Daemon (Dnk), Just Cause, Naphobia, Meldrum, ex-Unearth, Dethklok)
Will Campagna - Live Keyboards (ex-Zimmer's Hole)

John Paul Morgan - Keyboards (Unit:187)
Adrian White - Drums (ex-The Malignant Growth, Punky Brüster, ex-Process (Can), Frontline Assembly, Reset)

Tour Members:
Chris Valagao - Keyboards (2002) (Zimmer's Hole, Just Cause)
Munesh Sami - Keyboards (2003-2005) (Assjack, Hank Williams III, Bombscare)


Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 

Contact e-mail:
Copyright (c) 2007 - - All lyrics are the property and copyright of their respective owners.
All lyrics provided for educational purposes and personal use only. Please read the disclaimer.

About Us - Submit Lyrics - Privacy Policy - Disclaimer - Links