Metal Lyrica - The Largest Metal Lyrics Archive
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
Advanced Search 


Album: ''Sons of Kyuss'' (1989 Demo)
1. Freedom Run
2. Stage III
3. I'm Not
4. Big Bikes
5. Highway 74
6. The Law
7. Zero?

sons of kyuss


Kyuss (pronounced [ki-uss] rhymes with bias) is the corner stone of the genre known to many as stoner rock. Their sound is quite unique and generally noted for Homme's guitar always being tuned to a low C tuning. This tuning is a major third below standard pitch.

The band was originally formed in 1989 in Palm Desert, California under the name, Sons of Kyuss. They took the name from a monster in Dungeons and Dragons. Shortly after the release of their self-titled EP, the name was shortened to just Kyuss.

The quartet gained popularity around the desert due to their famous generator parties. These were parties fueled by gas generators in the canyons and isolated desert surrounding the small valley towns.

The group disbanded in 1997. The group felt that they were in a decline and felt it best to call it quits before it escalated into something that could not be fixed. The line up had shifted dramatically between 1989 and 1997. Josh Homme, John Garcia, Brant Bjork, and Chris Cockrell were the original members. Chris was replaced by Nick Oliveri during high school. That line up recorded Wretch and Blues for the Red Sun, after which Nick soon left. The eight year older, but very able Scott Reeder from The Obsessed was brought in. This line up recorded the famous Welcome to Sky Valley (A small town outside of Palm Desert). Brank Bjork left after this due to personal reasons. Alfredo Hernandez was brought in. The final line-up recorded ...And the Circus Leaves Town. The band toured and soon disbanded.

One final Greatest Hits CD was released titled, Muchas Gracias: The best of Kyuss.

All band members still influence the genre they helped create. The most notable is Queens of the Stone Age. Josh Homme, Nick Oliveri, and Alfredo Hernandez started this up after Josh had experimented with his famous Desert Sessions.

John Garcia took a path geared more towards traditional rock. He opened with Slo Burn. It was a harder Kyuss, and still played in drop C. That project did not last for over a year, although one EP was released. Following Slo Burn came Unida. This band was steered toward rock n' roll and away from the stoner rock genre. John has most recently been involved with the band Hermano.

Scott Reeder played in Unida for a little bit. Finally we find John Garcia in Hermano. Many consider this the greatest post-Kyuss project.

Nick Oliveri also has created waves in the music world. Apart from playing for years in Queens of the Stone Age he has played on and off in Dwarves. He is most known for his side project Mondo Generator. Scott Reeder pursued a career of producing mainly (most notably Orange Goblin's Coup de Grace). Just this past year he released a solo album called Tunnelvision Brilliance.

Brant Bjork has had the most stable musical career of them all. He turned down playing with Queens of the Stone Age to pursue a journey with his surfing buddies, Fu Manchu. He left after making numerous records with them to focus on his already blossoming solo career, playing the guitar instead of drums. He has worked with many people since, releasing records as Che, touring as Brant Bjork and The Operators, Brant Bjork and the Bros, and occasionally playing drums as well. Brant Bjork also played on some Desert Sessions.

Alfredo Henandez has guest starred on too many CDs and bands to count. Some include Yawning Man, Orquestra Del Desierto, Fatso Jetson, and many others. He also played in a local band located in Palm Desert.

* Sons of Kyuss (1990)
* Wretch (1991)
* Blues for the Red Sun (1992)
* Welcome to Sky Valley (1994)
* ...And the Circus Leaves Town (1995)
* Kyuss/Queens of the Stone Age (1997, split EP)
* Muchas Gracias: The Best of Kyuss (2000, compilation)

Heavy Metal/Stoner Rock

United States of America (Palm Desert, CA), formed in 1989

Smash! Productions / Black Highway

Changed name

John Garcia - Vocals (Slo Burn, Unida, Karma to Burn, Hermano)
Joshua Homme - Guitar (Queens of the Stone Age, Eagles of Death Metal, Screaming Trees, Wellwater Conspiracy)
Chris Cockrell - Bass (Solarfeast, Vic du Monte's Idiot Prayer)
Brant Bjork - Drums (ex-Fu Manchu, ex-Che, Brant Bjork and the Bros., Brant Bjork & the Operators, Fatso Jetson, Solarfeast, Mondo Generator, Auf der Maur, Decon)


Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 

Contact e-mail:
Copyright (c) 2007 - - All lyrics are the property and copyright of their respective owners.
All lyrics provided for educational purposes and personal use only. Please read the disclaimer.

About Us - Submit Lyrics - Privacy Policy - Disclaimer - Links