Metal Lyrica - The Largest Metal Lyrics Archive
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
Advanced Search 


The Breathing Shadow

Album: ''The Breathing Shadow'' (1995)
1. Nightfall Overture
2. Sleep...
3. The Dreamreader
4. Higher Than the Sky
5. Recovery Opus
6. The Return to Dreamland
7. Gypsy Eyes
8. Alone?
9. A Lesson in Evil
10. Eye for an Eye

The Closing Chronicles

Album: ''The Closing Chronicles'' (1996)
1. Deep Inside of Nowhere
2. Revival
3. Thoughts From a Stolen Soul
4. So Long (Still I Wonder)
5. Steal the Moon
6. Intermezzo
7. Alive Again


Album: ''I'' (2000)
1. Scarred for Life
2. Still in the Dark
3. The Game
4. Game Over
5. Remorse and Regret
6. Alonely
7. I Return
8. Drowning in Sadness
9. Dead or Alive
10. The Journey's End
11. Breathing

Alive Again

Album: ''Alive Again'' (2003)
1. Recollections
2. Shadowman
3. Glory Days
4. Falling
5. Into the Light
6. Eternal
7. State of Shock
8. The One
9. Shadowland Serenade
10. Forever and Never


Album: ''Invisible'' (2004)
1. Still Alive
2. Invisible
3. Raincheck on my Demise
4. Atlantis Rising
5. To the End
6. Misery
7. The Wake
8. One of the Lonely Ones
9. Worlds Apart
10. Stalingrad

Nightfall Overture

Album: ''Nightfall Overture'' (2005 Best of/Compilation)
1. Nightfall Overture
2. Dreamreader
3. Revival
4. Steal The Moon
5. Alonely
6. I Return
7. Shadowland Serenade
8. Glory Days
9. Losing Myself
10. Better Safe Than Sorry



Nightingale began in 1995 as a solo goth rock project of Dan Swanö, designed to explore his brief fascination with the genre, also evident on Edge of Sanity tracks such as "Sacrificed". The first album The Breathing Shadow was recorded and mastered by Swanö alone in the space of a week at his home Unisound studio, and has been described by some as a tribute to legendary goth rock band Sisters of Mercy, whose sound it does indeed resemble. The second album The Closing Chronicles was recorded in April 1996 with his brother Tom Nouga (real name Dag Swanö) acting as producer and contributing some guitar parts. Unlike the first album, it is somewhat influenced by prog rock and heavy metal, and continues the conceptual storyline that began in The Breathing Shadow to the logical conclusion of the central characters death, as it was intended to be the last Nightingale album. After this the band went on semi-hiatus, playing a couple of live concerts in small venues around Orebro with future permanent band member Erik Oskarsson on bass and Ari Halinoja playing the drums. The second concert, in October 1998 is remarkable because it marks one of the few times Edge of Sanity songs were performed live by Swanö, the band adding two lighter tracks to bulk out their set (Swanö scarcely performed live with Edge of Sanity, citing his inability to sustain death metal vocals for long enough). The band returned to Unisound in April 1999 to expand upon a lost demo of the track 'I Return' recorded by Swanö and Nouga in September 1998. 2000's I is a prequel to the first two albums, half composed by Dan Swano and half by Tom Nouga, several of the tracks, such as Alonely and Dead or Alive being recycled by Nouga from previously abandoned projects and given new lyrics (the originals being both written in Swedish and outside the conceptual storyline). For the recording of Alive Again in may 2002 (a sequel to the original "Breathing Shadow Trilogy" of I, The Breathing Shadow and The Closing Chronicles) the band was filled out with Tom Björn on drums and Erik Oskarsson returning as a permanent member. This record received the most critical acclaim yet upon its release in February 2003, partly owing to the increased exposure caused by their signing of a distribution deal with American label The End Records, and saw them play a string of live shows before travelling to Västerås in June 2004 to record Invisible, which is the band's first departure from their conceptual storyline approach, dealing with a wide array of topics from love to history. The band are currently preparing for their first major tour, after re-recording a set of tracks for a best-of album, Nightfall Overture, containing songs from their first four conceptual albums as well as an Edge of Sanity track and one new Nightingale song.

Melodic Metal/Progressive Rock

Conceptual storyline, fantasy, personal issues

Sweden (Örebro), formed in 1995

Black Mark


Dan Swanö : Vocals, guitars, keyboards (Bloodbath (Swe), Brejn Dedd, Darkcide (Swe), Demiurg (Swe), Diabolical Masquerade, Edge of Sanity, Godsend (Nor), Incision (Swe), Infestdead, Karaboudjan, Katatonia (Swe), Maceration, Masticate, Odyssey (Swe), Overflash, Pan.Thy.Monium, Ribspreader, Route Nine, Star One, Steel (Swe), Total Terror, Unicorn (Swe), Sorskogen, Frameshift, Another Life)
Tom Nouga (Dag Swanö) : Bass, guitars, keyboards (Pan.Thy.Monium)
Tom Björn : Drums (Memory Garden, Memento Mori)
Erik Oskarsson : Bass (Godsend (Nor))


Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 

Contact e-mail:
Copyright (c) 2007 - - All lyrics are the property and copyright of their respective owners.
All lyrics provided for educational purposes and personal use only. Please read the disclaimer.

About Us - Submit Lyrics - Privacy Policy - Disclaimer - Links