Metal Lyrica - The Largest Metal Lyrics Archive
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
Advanced Search 


The Phantom Agony

Album: ''The Phantom Agony'' (2003)
1. Adyta (The Neverending Embrace)
2. Sensorium
3. Cry For The Moon (The Embrace That Smothers - Part IV)
4. Feint
5. Illusive Consensus
6. Facade Of Reality (The Embrace That Smothers - Part V)
7. Run For A Fall
8. Seif Al Din (The Embrace That Smothers - Part VI)
9. The Phantom Agony

We Will Take You With Us

Album: ''We Will Take You With Us'' (2004 DVD)
1. Facade Of Reality
2. Sensorium
3. Illusive Consensus
4. Cry For The Moon
5. The Phantom Agony
6. Seif Al Din
7. Feint (Acoustic)
8. Run for A Fall (Acoustic)
9. Memory (Acoustic) (From the Musical "Cats")

Cry For The Moon

Album: ''Cry For The Moon'' (2004 Single)
1. Cry For The Moon (Previously unreleased Single Version)
2. Cry For The Moon
3. Run For A Fall (Previously unreleased Single Version)
4. Run For A Fall


Album: ''Feint'' (2004 Single)
1. Feint
2. Feint - Previously Unreleased Piano Version
3. Triumph Of Defeat - Previously Unreleased Instrumental Track
4. Seif Al Din

Consign to Oblivion

Album: ''Consign to Oblivion'' (2005)
1. Hunab K’u: ”A New Age Dawns” ~ Prologue
2. Dance of Fate
3. The Last Crusade: “A New Age Dawns” Part I
4. Solitary Ground
5. Blank Infinity
6. Force of the Shore
7. Quietus
8. Mother of Light: ”A New Age Dawns” Part II
9. Trois Vierges
10. Another Me “In Lack’ech”
11. Consign to Oblivion: ”A New Age Dawns” Part III

Quietus (Silent Reverie)

Album: ''Quietus (Silent Reverie)'' (2005 Single)
1. Quietus (Silent Reverie) - Single Version
2. Crystal Mountain - Previously Unreleased Orchestral Version (Death Cover Song)
3. Quietus (Silent Reverie) - Grunt Version
4. Crystal Mountain - Previously Unreleased Track (Death Cover Song)

Solitary Ground

Album: ''Solitary Ground'' (2005 Single)
1. Solitary Ground (Piano Version)
2. Solitary Ground (Remix)
3. Mother of Light (Different Version)
4. Palladium (Previously Unreleased Track)

The Road to Paradiso

Album: ''The Road to Paradiso'' (2006 Best of/Compilation)
1. Welcome To The Road To Paradiso
2. Making Of Adyta
3. Adyta (Demo Version)
4. Making Of Cry For The Moon
5. Cry For The Moon (Demo Version)
6. Making Of Quietus
7. Quietus (Demo Version)
8. Quietus (Single Version)
9. The Fallacy (Unreleased Track)
10. Interview With Ad On Live Tracks
11. Solitary Ground (Unreleased Live Version)
12. Blank Infinity (Unreleased Live Version)
13. Mother Of Light (Unreleased Live Version)
14. Linger (Unreleased Piano Version)
15. Crystal Mountain (Orchestal Version) (Death Cover)
16. Purushayita (Unreleased Track)

The Divine Conspiracy

Album: ''The Divine Conspiracy'' (2007)
1. Indigo (Prologue)
2. The Obsessive Devotion
3. Menace of Vanity
4. Chasing the Dragon
5. Never Enough
6. La‘petach Chatat Rovetz (The Final Embrace)
7. Death Of A Dream (The Embrace That Smothers Part VII)
8. Living A Lie (The Embrace That Smothers - Part VIII)
9. Fools of Damnation (The Embrace That Smothers - Part IX)
10. Beyond Belief
11. Safeguard to Paradise
12. Sancta Terra
13. The Divine Conspiracy

Never Enough

Album: ''Never Enough'' (2007 Single)
1. Never Enough (Edit Version)
2. Chasing the Dragon (Edit Version)
3. Safeguard to Paradise (Piano)



Epica is a symphonic metal band from The Netherlands. The band makes heavy use of keyboards and orchestra akin to symphonic metal, with a combination of mezzo soprano female and male grunt vocals akin to gothic metal. Their music style is mostly influenced from movie scores and in a very similar way to guitarist and group founder Mark Jansen's former band After Forever.

In early 2002, Mark Jansen left After Forever due to creative differences and began looking for musicians to integrate a new musical project, initially named Sahara Dust. In late 2002, the band courted Helena Michaelsen (from Trail of Tears) as its frontwoman, but shortly after she was replaced by the then unknown mezzo-soprano Simone Simons, Jansen's girlfriend at the time. The band's line-up was completed by guitarist Ad Sluijter, drummer Jeroen Simons, bassist Yves Huts and keyboard player Coen Janssen. Their name was changed to Epica, inspired by Kamelot's album Epica.

Epica then assembled a choir (made up of two men and six women) and a string orchestra (three violins, two violas, two cellos and a double bass) to play along with them. Their debut album, The Phantom Agony, was produced by Sascha Paeth (known for having previously produced bands such as Angra, Rhapsody of Fire and Kamelot) and was released in late 2003.

Their second release, entitled Consign to Oblivion, was influenced by the culture of the Maya civilization, a fact which can be noticed, for example, on songs which integrate the "A New Age Dawns" arch. "A New Age Dawns" refers to the time system of the Mayan people, which extends up to the year of 2012, and makes no reference of what may happen past said year. Consign to Oblivion was composed with film scores as a basis, with Hans Zimmer and Danny Elfman being cited as major inspirations. The album features guest singing by Roy Khan (from Kamelot) on the song "Trois Vierges". Epica also joined Kamelot as a support band on parts of their tour for promotion of the The Black Halo album, to which Simone had contributed her vocals.

Epica's The Score: An Epic Journey was released in September 2005 and is the soundtrack for a Dutch movie called Joyride, though it can also be seen as their third album. Characterised by guitarist, Mark Jansen, the album is "Typically Epica. Only without the singing, without the guitars, no bass and no drums".

In 2005 and 2006 Epica went on their first tour throughout North America with Kamelot. After the tour, their drummer, Jeroen Simons, left the band, due to his wish to pursue his other musical interests. In December Ariën Van Weesenbeek was announced at the official website of the band to be the drummer for their new album.

The new album The Divine Conspiracy has been released at the end of August 2007 in the United States in time for their second tour through North America. The new album was released early September in Europe and is the first Epica album released by Nuclear Blast.

Official site:

Symphonic Power/Gothic Metal

Agony, Sadness, Love, Mayan Philosophy & Legend

Netherlands (Dutch Limburg), formed in 2003

Nuclear Blast Records


Simone Simons - Vocals
Mark Jansen - Guitar & Vocals (ex-After Forever, Les Faidits)
Ad Sluijter - Guitar (ex-Cassiopeia (Hol))
Coen Janssen - Keys
Yves Huts - Bass (ex-Gurthang, ex-Axamenta, Ecliptica (Bel))

Live session musicians:
Ariën Van Weesenbeek - Drums (Aborted (Session Live Drums), ex-Delain (Guest), God Dethroned, ex-Edgecrusher (Bel), Down Till Dawn, ex-Imperia (Guest))
Koen Herfst - Drums (Bagga Bownz)

Jeroen Simons - Drums (Tremor (Hol), ex-Cassiopeia (Hol)) (2003-2006)


Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 

Contact e-mail:
Copyright (c) 2007 - - All lyrics are the property and copyright of their respective owners.
All lyrics provided for educational purposes and personal use only. Please read the disclaimer.

About Us - Submit Lyrics - Privacy Policy - Disclaimer - Links