Metal Lyrica - The Largest Metal Lyrics Archive
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
Advanced Search 


Void Terra Firma

Album: ''Void Terra Firma'' (1990)
1. Void Terra Firma
2. Deception Of Faith
3. Questions
4. Skitz-Illusions
5. Slayground
6. Killers
7. Steamroller
8. Checkmate
9. Buried Or Burned
10. Last Resort (Welcome To Poverty)

Beyond Recognition

Album: ''Beyond Recognition'' (1992)
1. Killing Floor
2. Step Back
3. Perfect Nothing
4. No Compromise
5. Dead Silence
6. Inside Looking Out
7. The Chosen
8. Powertrip
9. Promised Afterlife


There are two bands using the name Defiance...

1) Defiance is a band belonging to the second wave of thrash from the bay area.

Formed in 1985 by Brad Bowers (guitar), Mike Kaufmann (bass) and Matt Vander Ende (drums). In 1986 Doug Harrington (guitar) was added to the line up, but due to personal differences between Doug and Brad, they replaced Doug with Jim Adams (guitar) in late summer of that year. After Jim had been in the band for about 5 months he too began to experience 'personal differences' with Brad. The band decided to let Brad go and bring back Doug into the fold.

In early 1987, Mitch Mayes joined the band (vocals). Defiance did several shows with this line up and recorded their first demo. Shortly after the demo was completed, Mitch left the band and was replaced by Ken Elkinton (vocals) and soon after they recorded their second demo "Hypothermia". This demo caught the attention of Roadrunner Records who signed the band to a record deal in the Summer of 1988. Defiance then traveled to Vancouver Canada to record their first album with Jeff Waters of Annihlator as producer.

1989 saw the release of their debut album "Product of Society" and soon after Elkinton was replaced by Steev Esquivel.

In 1990 they released their second album "Void Terra Firma" which was recorded at Prairie Sun Recording Studios in Cotati, CA with John Cuniberti doing the production duties.

Two years later in 1992, Defiance wrote and forged one of its finest album's to date, "Beyond Recognition". The album was recorded at Bayview Studios in Richmond, CA and was produced by Rob Beaton (Buckethead, Defiance, Heathen). It was well received by fans and critics alike.

That year, for separate and personal reasons, Adams and Vander Ende eventually took leave from their roles in the band. In early 1993, Brian Wenzel (guitar) and Mike Bennett (drums) joined the band very briefly. Jim Adams soon returned, and Defiance continued to perform local shows and write new material. Tyson Leeper also joined briefly on drums before Steev Esquivel decided to leave the band at that time. During this process, Dave White of Heathen was recruited as vocalist, along with drummer Paul Palmer. With this formation (Adams, Harrington, Kaufmann, Palmer, White) Defiance performed several shows in 1993 and 1994; and, they wrote and recorded a solid studio demo with noted engineer Rob Beaton producing the songs, which received positive reviews and radio airplay.

Later in 1994, several members were moving in a new musical direction, and formed the band "Inner Threshold" with Hugo Barrientos on drums. Inner Threshold performed through 1995, until Adams and White departed to pursue other interests. At that time, another offshoot of the band developed, including Chris Long on guitar and vocals, and changing its name again to "Under." That formation continued to perform and record demo material until 1999.

Defiance regrouped in 2005 with four of the original members. With the addition of new drummer, James 'Flatline' Raymond to the group in the summer of 2005, the group had began to work towards completing a new four song EP.

In November of 2006, guitarist Doug Harrington passed away. The band went through a long period of grief, while still trying to work towards completing the project started in 2005, in Doug's honor with Mark Hernandez taking over drum duties.

In September of 2008 Defiance signed with Candlelight Records a major independent metal record label. Their new album "The Prophecy" was released on October 19th, 2009. Since the album's release both Mark Hernandez and Steev have moved on to pursue their careers with their main bands Forbidden and Skinlab respectively.

Defiance announced the additions of:
Shawn Bozarth - guitar
Keven Albert - Vocals
in December 2009, and broke out of the gate by playing the first Defiance live show in 15 years on December 19th, 2009 for the very successful record release party in Berkeley, CA.

After trying out different drummers for the new line up, Defiance recruits Burton Ortega ex-member of KAOS to support the new album "The Prophecy".

The current line up of Defiance is:
Jim Adams - Guitars
Shawn Bozarth - Guitars
Keven Albert - Vocals
Mike Kaufmann - Bass
Burton Ortega - Drums

2) Defiance is a punk rock band signed to Punkcore records.

Thrash Metal


United States of America (San Francisco Bay Area (Oakland, CA)), formed in 1985



Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 

Contact e-mail:
Copyright (c) 2007 - - All lyrics are the property and copyright of their respective owners.
All lyrics provided for educational purposes and personal use only. Please read the disclaimer.

About Us - Submit Lyrics - Privacy Policy - Disclaimer - Links