Metal Lyrica - The Largest Metal Lyrics Archive
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
Advanced Search 



Album: ''Severance'' (2003)
1. Born is the Enemy
2. Ignorance of Bliss
3. Blood of Angels
4. Countdown
5. Prism of You
6. End of Days
7. Severance Day
8. Sellout
9. September
10. Beggars with Knives
11. Sibling



Daysend (pronounced days-end) is a melodic thrash metal band based in Sydney, Australia, assembled in 2002. Their debut album, Severance, was released in the year following their foundation.

The members of the band all came from well-regarded underground Sydney metal bands. Bass player Meredith Webster and original drummer Matt Lamb were from Psi.Kore, who released an EP in 2000 and toured widely throughout Australia. Guitarist Aaron Bilbija had a long list of former bands attached to his name, including Depression and DeadSpawn (a band that also featured original vocalist Dave Micallef, who left before Daysend ever played live) and brief stints with Infernal Method and Psi.Kore. Drummer Wayne Morris also played in Depression and Deadspawn with Bilbija, guitarist Michael Kordek had been a founding member of Automation and singer Simon Calabrese was formerly with nu-metal bands Inequity and Redsands.

The band already had a strong reputation to live up to then and before long they had established themselves with a string of supports to international touring bands including Strapping Young Lad, Entombed, Slipknot, In Flames and Shadows Fall. The Severence album was popular among metal music fans and was voted Best Australian Metal Album in a Triple J listeners poll in late 2003, an honour it shared with Renascent Misanthropy by Brisbane black metal band Astriaal.

Kordek left the band in early 2005 and was replaced by Andrew Lilley, another journeyman guitarist who has played in Psi.Kore, Infernal Method and Atomizer. This line-up toured the US in mid-2005 to wild acclaim. On their return to Australia, Lilley left Daysend and Kordek returned to the line-up.

In May, 2006 vocalist Simon Calabrese departed from the band. The new vocalist found within this same this is named Mark McKernan.

Melodic Thrash Metal

Society and politics

Australia (Sydney), formed in 2003

Chatterbox Records


Meredith Webster - Bass (Psi.Kore)
Aaron Bilbija - Guitar (Psi.Kore, Syphilis (Aus), Deadspawn (Aus), Depression (Aus), Infernal Method)
Michael Kordek - Guitar (Infernal Method, Automation)
Wayne Morris - Drums (2002) (Deadspawn (Aus), Depression (Aus))
Mark McKernan - Vocals (2006-)

Simon Calabrese - Vocals
Dave Micallef - Vocals (Deadspawn (Aus)) 2002
Matt Lamb - Drums (Psi.Kore) 2002
Andrew Lilley - Guitar (Atomizer, Depravation (Aus), Psi.Kore, Infernal Method, Mortality (Aus)) 2005


Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 

Contact e-mail:
Copyright (c) 2007 - - All lyrics are the property and copyright of their respective owners.
All lyrics provided for educational purposes and personal use only. Please read the disclaimer.

About Us - Submit Lyrics - Privacy Policy - Disclaimer - Links