Metal Lyrica - The Largest Metal Lyrics Archive
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
Advanced Search 


Devastation Sampler

Album: ''Devastation Sampler'' (2003 Single)
1. Breathing New Life
2. New Found Power
3. Explode

New Found Power

Album: ''New Found Power'' (2004)
1. Wake Up
2. Breathing New Life
3. New Found Power
4. Pride
5. Fuck You
6. Reborn
7. Explode
8. Save Me
9. Cold Blooded
10. Crawl
11. Blink Of An Eye
12. Blunt Force Trauma
13. Moment Of Truth
14. Soul Bleed



Damageplan (originally New Found Power) was a US-American heavy metal band, showcasing the groove metal sound that was demonstrated by guitarist "Dimebag" Darrell Abbott and drummer Vinnie Paul while playing in Pantera, most notably on the Vulgar Display of Power album.


Formed by Dime and Vinnie after Pantera disbanded, they were joined by ex-Halford guitarist Pat Lachman on vocals and ex-Jerry Cantrell guitarist Shawn Matthews on bass. Following the recording of the album, Matthews departed and was immediately replaced by Bob Zilla by the Abbott brothers. Their sound mixed both Pantera with a distinctly Damageplan sound. Their debut album, New Found Power, was released in the United States on February 10, 2004.

New Found Power reached #34 on the Billboard charts, with the band gaining popularity within the metal community almost instantly. They toured throughout 2004 promoting the album, with continuing success.

-Murder of Dimebag Darrell-

On December 8, 2004, "Dimebag" Darrell Abbott, and 3 others were murdered when a gunman, 25-year-old Nathan Gale, took to the stage and began shooting during the band's show at the Alrosa Villa, a Columbus, Ohio, USA nightclub. Columbus police officer James Niggemeyer soon arrived at the scene and shot the attacker, killing him. Damageplan was on a world tour at the time, and according to guitarist "Dimebag" Darrell, a new album probably would have been released sometime in 2005. The band was playing the song "Breathing New Life" when Gale opened fire. The events of the evening are chronicled in the book A Vulgar Display Of Power: Courage and Carnage at the Alrosa Villa, foreword written by Officer Niggemeyer.

-Post-Dimebag murder actions-

The band has been dissolved since Darrell's murder. However, has reported that members of Damageplan may release their second and final album with Dimebag's final recordings later in 2005. As of April 2007, it is unknown how complete these recordings are or when they will be released. It is speculated that the recordings are demo recordings, as Damageplan were touring in support of New Found Power at the time of the shooting.


On August 11, 2006, a new project involving Vinnie Paul (in addition to members of Mudvayne and Nothingface) surfaced. The band's name is Hellyeah and their debut album was released on April 10, 2007, on Epic Records. Just over a week later, Bob Zilla joined the band as their new bassist, after Jerry Montano was fired from the band after an incident at 'The Clubhouse' where Montano became intoxicated and increasingly violent towards his bandmates.

-Band members-

* Patrick Lachman - vocals
* Dimebag Darrell - guitar (deceased)
* Vinnie Paul - drums
* Bob Zilla - bass

-Former members-

* Shawn Matthews - bass

Groove / Metalcore

General life struggles and situations

United States of America (Dallas, Texas), formed in 2003

Elektra Records


Patrick Lachman - vocals (ex-Halford, ex-Dr. Mastermind, ex-Error7, ex-Gargoyle (US), Eleventh Hour, Diesel, State of the Art)
Bob "Zilla" Kakaha - bass (Hellyeah)
Vinnie Paul - drums (Pantera, Hellyeah, Tres Diablos, Gasoline, Rebel Meets Rebel)
Dimebag Darrell - guitars (R.I.P. 12/8/2004 - shot to death) (Pantera, Tres Diablos, Gasoline, Rebel Meets Rebel, guest in Anthrax)

Shawn Matthews - bass (Jerry Cantrell)


Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 

Contact e-mail:
Copyright (c) 2007 - - All lyrics are the property and copyright of their respective owners.
All lyrics provided for educational purposes and personal use only. Please read the disclaimer.

About Us - Submit Lyrics - Privacy Policy - Disclaimer - Links