Metal Lyrica - The Largest Metal Lyrics Archive
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
Advanced Search 


This Present Darkness

Album: ''This Present Darkness'' (2000 EP)
1. This Present Darkness
2. Painting White to Grey
3. Divination
4. Sphere
5. Lend a Hand

Pass Out of Existence

Album: ''Pass Out of Existence'' (2001)
1. Let Go
2. Dead Inside
3. Severed
4. Lumps
5. Pass Out of Existence
6. Abeo
7. SP Lit
8. Painting the White to Grey
9. Taste My...
10. Rizzo
11. Sphere
12. Forced Life
13. Options
14. Jade

Pass out of existence Promo

Album: ''Pass out of existence Promo'' (2001 Single)
1. Dead Inside
2. SP Lit

The Impossibility of Reason

Album: ''The Impossibility of Reason'' (2003)
1. Cleansation
2. The Impossibility of Reason
3. Pictures in the Gold Room
4. Power Trip
5. Down Again
6. Pure Hatred
7. The Dehumanizing Process
8. Crawl
9. Stigmurder
10. Eyes of a Criminal
11. Overlooked
12. Implements of Destruction

Down Again

Album: ''Down Again'' (2003 Single)
1. Down Again

The Dehumanizing Process

Album: ''The Dehumanizing Process'' (2004 DVD)
1. Power Trip
2. Cleansation
3. Severed
4. Eyes of a Criminal
5. Down Again
6. The Dehumanizing Process
7. Pure Hatred


Album: ''Chimaira'' (2005)
1. Nothing Remains
2. Save Ourselves
3. Inside the Horror
4. Salvation
5. Comatose
6. Left for Dead
7. Everything You Love
8. Bloodlust
9. Pray for All
10. Lazarus


Album: ''Resurrection'' (2007)
1. Resurrection
2. Pleasure in Pain
3. Worthless
4. Six
5. No Reason to Live
6. Killing the Beast
7. The Flame
8. End It All
9. Black Heart
10. Needle
11. Empire

Resurrection - Single

Album: ''Resurrection - Single'' (2007 Single)
1. Resurrection



Chimaira is a six-membered band from Cleveland, Ohio. Its members describe the band as being of "The new wave of American Heavy metal" and are firmly in the post-thrash metalcore slot in their music style.

Chimaira was formed in 1998, composing itself of Mark Hunter (vocals), Jason Hager (guitar), Rob Arnold (guitar), Jim LaMarca (bass), Andols Herrick (drums) and Chris Spicuzza (keyboards and electronics). Their first EP, This Present Darkness, was released on January 11, 2000, on East Coast Empire records. This EP featured a few songs that were later re-recorded for their major label release on Roadrunner Records, entitled Pass Out of Existence. Jason Hager later left the band after Pass Out Of Existence due to family issues and the band gained Matt DeVries, a long time friend of the band and guitarist for the Cleveland based band Ascension. Pass Out of Existence didn't sell that many records when it was released in 2001, but The Impossibility of Reason, released in 2003, was enough to fund Chimaira's extensive touring with In Flames, and their second-stage performance at Ozzfest, also in 2003.

Musically, Pass Out of Existence had a much more "electronic" sound than The Impossibility of Reason, with Chris Spicuzza's pronounced electronic loops featured in many songs. This sound was often compared to artists like Fear Factory, Spineshank and Slipknot. The Impossibility of Reason kept with a more pure, metal-esque instrumentation, akin to metalcore bands such as Killswitch Engage, and this was found to be very popular--the album reached #2 on Billboard's "Heatseekers" chart.

Their self-titled album, released in August 2005, built upon the progress of The Impossibility of Reason. The electronic feel of Pass Out of Existence and This Present Darkness is much reduced, and the guitar riffs and solos are taking a more central position to the band's music. The band hired Kevin Talley (Dying Fetus, Misery Index) to fill position behind the drumkit.
The themes of "rejection, revenge and repercussion" [1] from The Impossibility of Reason remain, although there are exceptions here - the track "Lazarus" is named for, and written about a friend of Mark Hunter's (singer) commiting suicide. In mid-2006 Chimaira and Roadrunner announced they would amicably part ways.

On March 6th, 2007, Chimaira released "Resurrection" on Nuclear Blast/Ferret Records, with some special packs containing a DVD of the making of the album. Andols Herrick returned to the band, and musically the album is an evolution of previous efforts. The songs feature heavy and pounding riffs, as in the likes of "Chimaira", but also features more thoughtful melodic parts and, what can be considered, more progressive solo parts and arrangements. Also from Chris Spicuzza on keyboard there is a heavier contribution than on the last album. The band even manage to create a black-metal-esque song with the help of Morgoth The Impaler on keyboards. Unsurprisingly, the song "Resurrection" was written about the new lease of life the band (especially Mark Hunter) felt upon release from Roadrunner, who they felt, were not promoting the band as much as the band felt they deserved.

America: Ferret
Europe: Nuclear Blast


Misanthropy, Internal Struggles, Hatred

United States of America (Cleveland, Ohio), formed in 1995

Nuclear Blast (Europe)/Ferret (US)


Mark Hunter - Vocals (ex-Skipline)
Matt DeVries - Guitars (Ascension)
Rob Arnold - Guitars
Jim LaMarca - Bass (Tenafly Viper)
Chris Spicuzza - Electronics, backing vocals
Andy Herrick - Drums

Jason Hager - Guitars (Years of Fire, ex-Ascension)
Rob Lesniak - Bass (Dislimb, Nunslaughter, Necrotic Disgorgement, Embalmer (US), Gutrot)
Andrew "AE" Ermlick - Bass
Richard Evensand - Drums (Demonoid, Dog Faced Gods, ex-Ebony Tears, ex-Soilwork (Tour), ex-Sorcerer (Swe), ex-Southpaw, Therion (Swe), Lion's Share)
Kevin Talley - Drums (Dååth, ex-The Red Chord (Live Drums), Soils of Fate, ex-Misery Index, ex-Decrepit Birth, ex-Dying Fetus, ex-M.O.D., Hate Eternal (Session Live), CattleDecapitation, ex-Dark Days)


Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 

Contact e-mail:
Copyright (c) 2007 - - All lyrics are the property and copyright of their respective owners.
All lyrics provided for educational purposes and personal use only. Please read the disclaimer.

About Us - Submit Lyrics - Privacy Policy - Disclaimer - Links