Metal Lyrica - The Largest Metal Lyrics Archive
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
Advanced Search 


Akuma No Uta

Album: ''Akuma No Uta'' (2003)
1. Intro
2. Ibitsu
3. Furi
4. Naki Kyoku
5. Ano Onna No Onryou
6. Akuma No Uta


Album: ''Pink'' (2005)
1. Farewell
2. Pink
3. Women On The Screen
4. Nothing Special
5. Blackout
6. Electric
7. Pseudo Bread
8. Afterburner
9. Six, Three Times
10. My Machine
11. Just Abandoned Myself


Album: ''Altar'' (2006)
1. Etna
2. N.L.T.
3. The Sinking Belle (Blue Sheep)
4. Akuma No Kuma
5. Fried Eagle Mind
6. Blood Swamp

Boris with Michio Kurihara "Rainbow"

Album: ''Boris with Michio Kurihara "Rainbow"'' (2006)
1. Rafflesia
2. Rainbow
3. Starship Narrator
4. My Rain
5. Shine
6. You Laughed Like A Water Mark
7. Fuzzy Reactor
8. Sweet No. 1
9. ...And, I Want



Boris (ボリス) is a cult-favorite Japanese sludge/doom metal trio. Boris takes its name from a song on grunge godfathers the Melvins' Bullhead album. They also have a lot in common with the Melvins musically, including a fondness for heavily down-tuned guitar/bass tones and exceedingly slow tempos. But they also incorporate elements variously drawn from other sources, including psychedelic rock, punk, noise, minimalism, pure sludge-drone music à la Earth, and more. Also, despite the unpretentious psychedelic/stoner rock imagery that accompanies much of their work, there is an ambitiously experimental aspect to much of it. Their albums, for example, have tended to be massive conceptual projects: Absolutego, in its original form, was a feedback-heavy drone exploration consisting of a single 65-minute track; Flood consists of another extremely long track, 70-plus minutes in length, exploring the band's quieter sides with a minimalist/phase music slant. Also on the more experimental end of their discography are collaborations with Japanese avant-garde enigma Keiji Heino and power electronics/noise legend Merzbow.

Boris formed during the early '90s and consists of guitarist Wata, bassist Takeshi, and drummer/vocalist Atsuo. They made their first recorded appearance on an obscure 1994 compilation entitled Take Care of Scabbard Fish, released only in Japan and now out of print. Absolutego, their full-length debut, came out in 1996 on the band's own Fangs Anal Satan imprint but was unavailable in the U.S. for years, a situation that was remedied when the Los Angeles-based Southern Lord label reissued the album in early 2001 along with a bonus track and new packaging. Their next album, Amplifier Worship, came out on the Mangrove label in 1998 and was also unavailable in the U.S. for several years; San Francisco's Man's Ruin had planned to reissue it in the fall of 2001, but the label folded before that could happen. 1998 also saw the release of the Boris/Keiji Haino collaboration, a live disc entitled Black: Implication Flooding, which came out on Japan's Inoxia Records. In 1999, Boris issued a split CD with fellow Japanese band Choukoko No Niwa, More Echoes, Touching Air Landscape, which also came out on Inoxia and featured Boris weighing in with a brief (for them) 28-minute contribution. Their third full-length album, Flood, was released two years later on the MIDI Creative label.
The band's latest album Pink was met with considerable critical praise, exposing many more to their distinct sound. Their recent vinyl-only release, Vein, focused on a sound derived from classic Japanese noise/crust bands such as Gloom, Confuse, and Gai.

Boris has collaborated with fellow Japanese artists Keiji Haino, Michio Kurihara and Merzbow, and a collaboration with the U.S. drone/doom metal band Sunn O))), entitled Altar, was released on October 31, 2006.


Boris (NL)
Second is Boris (a.k.a. Bo-rush), the winner of the second Dutch Idol show in 2003/2004.
Said being influenced by soul artists like Prince, Michael Jackson, Otis Redding and Marvin Gaye, Boris' music is mostly soul, with influences of funk, jazz and pop.
Boris Titulaer was born in Venlo in 1980. His parents being musicians, Boris started making music when he was very young. When he was 17 he started at the Conservatorium in Maastricht, but quit that very soon. In 2001 he became part of the soul formation Sofuja (soul funk jazz)) which wasn't very successful in Holland, but in Spain it was.
After winning Idols in 2004, his first single When you think of me got platina even before is was available in the shops. His first album Rely on me, with the singles MSG (My Special Girlfriend) and Cordelia, was released in 2004 and was very successful. It was nominated for an Edison Award in 2005.
After the single Within my hands in july 2006, his second album was released in october 2006, called Holy Pleasure.


Boris (F)
Lastly, there is a French DJ who had hits in the 90's.

Drone/Stoner Rock/Psychedelic Rock/Doom/Ambient

Japan (Tokyo), formed in 1992

Diwphalanx Records


Takeshi Ohtani - bass, guitar & vocals
Wata - guitar & vocals
Atsuo Mizuno - drums & vocals

Nagata - drums


Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 

Contact e-mail:
Copyright (c) 2007 - - All lyrics are the property and copyright of their respective owners.
All lyrics provided for educational purposes and personal use only. Please read the disclaimer.

About Us - Submit Lyrics - Privacy Policy - Disclaimer - Links