Metal Lyrica - The Largest Metal Lyrics Archive
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
Advanced Search 


Angel Witch

Album: ''Angel Witch'' (1980)
1. Angel Witch
2. Atlantis
3. White Witch
4. Confused
5. Sorcerers
6. Gorgon
7. Sweet Danger
8. Free Man
9. Angel of Death
10. Devil's Tower

Frontal Assault

Album: ''Frontal Assault'' (1986)
1. Frontal Assault
2. Dreamworld
3. Rendezvous With the Blade
4. Religion (Born Again)
5. Straight From Hell
6. She Don't Lie
7. Take to the Wing
8. Something Wrong
9. Undergods

Doctor Phibes

Album: ''Doctor Phibes'' (1986 Best of/Compilation)
1. Angel Witch
2. Atlantis
3. White Witch
4. Confused
5. Sorceress
6. Loser
7. Dr. Phibes
8. Gorgon
9. Sweet Danger
10. Free Man
11. Angel of Death
12. Devil's Tower
13. Suffer

Angel Witch Live

Album: ''Angel Witch Live'' (1990 Live album)
1. Angel Of Death
2. Sweet Danger
3. Confused
4. Sorceress
5. Gorgon
6. Baphomet
7. Extermination Day
8. Atlantis
9. Flight 19
10. Angel Witch
11. White Witch

Album: '''82 Revisited'' (1997 Live album)
1. Gorgon
2. Nowhere to Run
3. They Wouldn't Dare
4. The Sorceress
5. Evil Games
6. White Witch
7. Angel of Death
8. Angel Witch
9. Evil Games
10. They Wouldn't Dare
11. Nowhere to Run

Sinister History

Album: ''Sinister History'' (1999 Best of/Compilation)
1. Baphomet
2. Sorceress
3. Extermination Day
4. Flight 19
5. Hades Paradise
6. Devil's Tower
7. White Witch
8. Into the Dark (live)
9. Devil's Tower (live)
10. The Night Is Calling (live)
11. Angel of Death (live)
12. Confused (live)
13. Evil Games (live)

2000: Live at the LA2

Album: ''2000: Live at the LA2'' (2000 Live album)
1. Atlantis
2. Confused
3. Twist of the Knife
4. Gorgon
5. White Witch
6. Sorceress
7. Extermination Day
8. Psychopathic
9. Baphomet
10. Angel of Death
11. Guitar Solo
12. Angel Witch

They Wouldn

Album: ''They Wouldn't Dare'' (2004 EP)
1. They Wouldn't Dare
2. Nowhere To Run
3. Evil Games
4. They Wouldn't Dare (live)

angel witch


Angel Witch is a British heavy metal band which was assembled in 1977. They were part of the NWOBHM (New wave of british heavy metal) movement together with bands such as Iron Maiden and Saxon.

The band was founded under the name of Lucifer and initially comprised of guitarist and vocalist Kevin Heybourne, guitarist Rob Downing, bassist Kevin Riddles and drummer Steve Jones. Lucifer split and Steve Jones joined up with Bruce Dickinson to form Speed. The remnants of Lucifer became Angel Witch on the following year,when Dave Hogg joined on drums and eventually Rob Downing left the band.

Angel Witch's first song to achieve mainstream popularity was "Baphomet", which was included on a compilation entitled Metal for Muthas. This song drew a fair amount of attention to the band, and they eventually signed a recording deal with EMI. However, the deal was soon cancelled, due to the bad performance of their first single released under the EMI label, which was entitled Sweet Danger and lasted a single week on British top charts.

On 1980, Bronze Records picked up the band and they soon proceeded to record and release their debut album, self-titled Angel Witch. This album is considered one of the most notable from the NWOBHM, but subsequent to the album's release, the band's structure began to fall apart. Kevin Riddles and Dave Hogg left the band to join Tytan, and despite Heybourne's attempts to continue Angel Witch with other musicians, the end of the band was declared and he joined Deep Machine.

Angel Witch was brought back to activity on 1982, when Heybourne and two musicians from Deep Machine - namely vocalist Roger Marsden and drummer Ricky Bruce - left to assemble a new Angel Witch line-up together with bassist Jerry Cunningham. This line-up lasted a very short time, as Marsden's voice didn't fit the style of the band very well. He was fired from the band and Heybourne assumed the vocals once more.

By 1983 the band had ceased its activities, and Heybourne moved to Blind Fury. In 1984, Angel Witch was once more brought to life, this time with the help of bassist Peter Gordelier, singer Dave Tattum and with Dave Hogg returning to the drums. This line-up recorded the album Screamin' N' Bleedin'. Dave Hogg left the band one more time, but not without many snide remarks from the band's fans. He was replaced by Spencer Hollman. With the new drummer they recorded Frontal Assault, which deviated heavily from Angel Witch's previous albums, having many melodic elements.

Dave Tattum left the band on the same year and for a few years Angel Witch played as a trio on sporadic live performances. In 1989, they recorded a new live album, entitled simply Live - not to be mistaken with the band Live.

Heybourne decided that it would be of the band's best interest to move to the USA, but the other members had no way of accomplishing that, having stable lives on their home country. Thus, an American incarnation of Angel Witch was born. It was composed of Heybourne, bassist Jon Torres (from Laaz Rockit), drummer Tom Hunting and guitarist Doug Piercy. This line-up functioned quite well, and soon the band had booked a fair amount of shows throughout the USA. However, it was found that Heybourne had some pending issues regarding immigration, and he was arrested one day before the first concert of the band. Without Heybourne, Angel Witch was soon dissolved.

After the release of the Resurrection compilation in 2000, the band intended to play together once more, but after a series of internal conflicts, Heybourne assembled yet another line-up, with new members. As of 2001, the band is still active, even though they do not make concerts frenquently.

* Angel Witch (1980)
* Loser (EP, 1981)
* '82 Revisited (Live, 1982)
* Screamin' and Bleedin' (1985)
* Frontal Assault (1986)
* Live (Live, 1990)
* Resurrection (2000)
* 2000: Live At The LA2 (Live, 2000)


Love, occult, life, fantasy

United Kingdom (London), formed in 1978



Kevin Heybourne - Vocals, guitars (Blind Fury, Deep Machine)
Lee Altus - Guitars (Heathen, Exodus)
Jon Torres - Bass (Heathen, Lääz Rockit, Ulysses Siren, Warning S.F., I4NI, The Lord Weird Slough Feg)
Darren Minter - Drums (Heathen, Brutal Groove)

Roger Marsden (1982) (E.F. Band,Deep Machine, Nevadda Foxx)
Dave Tattum (1984-86) (Nightwing (UK))

Myk Taylor (1998) (R.I.P. 21st August 2003, leukemia)
Doug Piercy (1990-2000) (Anvil Chorus, Heathen, Parryzide, The Company, Control)
Keith Herzberg (2000-2002)

Kevin "Skids" Riddles (1979-81) (Tytan, ex-Lion (Guest), Samson (UK))
Jerry Cunningham (1982)
Pete Gordelier (also vocals, 1984-86) (ex-Blind Fury, Marquis de Sade, ex-Driveshaft)
Ritchie Wicks (also vocals, 2000-2002) (ex-Tygers of Pan Tang, ex-Shadow Keep)
Grant Dennison (1989)

Dave Dufort (1980-81) (Tytan, ex-Deep Machine, ex-E.F. Band, Epizootic, The Voice, The Scenery, Paper Blitz Issue, Mike Oldfield, Kevin Ayers)
Dave Hogg (1979-80, 1984-85) (ex-Blind Fury)
Ricky Bruce (1982) (ex-Deep Machine)
Spencer Holman (1984-86)
Scott Higham (2000-2002) (Shadow Keep)
Tom Hunting (Exodus, I4NI, IR8, Sexoturica, Piranha)


Search lyrics by band name or use our Advanced Search engine: 
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 

Contact e-mail:
Copyright (c) 2007 - - All lyrics are the property and copyright of their respective owners.
All lyrics provided for educational purposes and personal use only. Please read the disclaimer.

About Us - Submit Lyrics - Privacy Policy - Disclaimer - Links